Red Thai Chicken Curry

I am a “reformed picky eater.”

There was a while (like my first fifteen years) where it seemed as though I wouldn’t ever eat anything except plain pasta and fruit. But slowly – SLOWLY – I began to  try new foods and let my taste buds branch out. The day I ordered my first sushi roll was monumental.

Then my brother – who, as a child, would only eat white, starchy food or chicken nuggets – decided to go to culinary school. And everything changed! The kitchen became our family gathering place; our experimental taste lab.

Now, we are constantly sending each other recipes and saving interesting ones to all cook together over holidays. It’s a family affair.

But one cuisine I hadn’t really attempted to cook yet was Thai food. I was thrilled when I found a simple, healthy curry recipe from EatLiveRun!

Since I recently moved, I had to venture out on this Thai adventure without the help of my mom or brother. Of course, I can’t complain – Ryan assisted with some chopping and the recipe is really easy once you have all of that prep done. The only alteration I would make in the future would be to thicken the broth. And we served it over quinoa, but I actually think rice would be better.

Enjoy this delicious, warm winter dish!

thai2

Thai Red Curry Chicken

Via EatLiveRun

serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into bite-sized chunks
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 3 cups coconut milk, light or regular
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 4 tbsp red curry paste
  • 2 baby bok choy, chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, thinly sliced
  • 1″ knob ginger, grated *You can also use roughly 1 T of ginger paste
  • 1 cup chopped snow peas
  • 1 sweet potato, peeled and sliced into 1/4″ thick pieces
  • 1 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 2 tsp fish sauce
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1 tsp salt
  • cooked rice or quinoa for serving

Directions:

Heat the coconut oil in a large heavy-bottomed pot over medium high heat. When hot, add the ginger and saute until fragrant — 2 minutes.

Add the chicken and sear until not quite cooked through. Then, add the curry paste. Mix the ginger, chicken and curry paste together and continue to saute over high heat for another two minutes.

Pour in the coconut milk and water, then add the bok choy, bell pepper, chopped snow peas and sweet potatoes. Bring curry to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer. Stir in the fish sauce, salt, lime juice and sugar. Continue simmering over medium/low heat until veggies are soft. This will take about 10 minutes.

Serve curry over rice or quinoa!

Leave a Reply

