The Easiest Healthy Chili

Is January over yet? Because I am SO ready for Spring.

I can totally handle winter when the joy of Christmas season is surrounding me, but after? I turn into the I’m-always-cold Grinch. And don’t even get me started on driving in freezing icy conditions!

Of course, it isn’t quite as bad when you can stay inside and snuggle up with a warm bowl of soup or stew – like chili!

This chili recipe is the absolute easiest winter dinner ever – and it’s an often requested family favorite. I really have no idea where it originated – it’s quite possible my mom made it up. It’s simple and healthy, and definitely tastes homemade. The ground turkey breast is lean but will still satisfy meat lovers, and the beans make it protein-packed.

It’s a lot of fun to include a mini toppings bar with this – for instance: avocado, cheese, Frito’s, Saltines, or oyster crackers. You can serve it on top of rice to make it more hearty as well.

Easy Chili

The Easiest Healthy Chili

Ingredients:

1 lb ground turkey breast (I use either 93% or 99%)

2 15 oz cans of (plain) tomato sauce

1 can of red kidney beans

1 can of black beans

1 can of white beans

1 packet chili seasoning (I like to mix 1/2 packet of the spicy with 1 whole regular packet)

Directions:

In a large pot, cook the ground turkey breast, breaking it up as it cooks. Once it’s browned, add in the tomato sauce, beans and seasoning. Bring to boil, stirring, then let simmer for 10-15 minutes. Add any extra seasoning to taste – and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

