Strawberry Ice Cream Cake

I’ve always liked other peoples birthdays better than my own. I revel in the planning and gifting and baking.

Strawberry Birthday Cake 2

It probably has something to do with the fact that my birthday is at the end of the summer, which was always right when we’d moved somewhere new. I’d have a fun birthday with my family, but I never liked making a big deal out of it. But anyone else’s birthday? I’m all about the festivities and over-the-top sparkle.

So, for Ryan’s birthday last week, I went into all-out cake research mode. I narrowed it down to three options: strawberry cake, blue moon cupcakes, or a cookie cake. I chose strawberry cake (ok, not so much my decision – he hinted at it), but I threw in ice cream for a twist.

I had just experienced one of the coldest weeks of my life, so that addition had me testing my sanity. As in, did I dare pretend it’s spring and eat ice cream and wear flats even while a blizzard raged on outside my thin walls? Save me, Mr. Groundhog.

Strawberry Ice Cream Cake

I have to admit, I was a little bit afraid of ice cream cake. I’d made it before, years ago, and didn’t exactly have great results. BUT this time it was way easy!

I made the two round cakes, then froze them. After about an hour, I took out the ice cream and let it thaw for maybe 10-15 minutes, then took out the cake and spread the softer ice cream on top of one cake in the pan, until I reached the desired thickness. Then, I put the other cake layer on top and stuck it all back in the freezer until I wanted to frost it. And voila!

And, because of the extra additions that went into it, I didn’t even let myself feel guilty for using a cake mix. Homemade whipped cream frosting cancels that out, right?

Strawberry Ice Cream Cake 2

Strawberry Ice Cream Cake

Cake

via Taste and Tell

  • 1 box (15.25 oz) white cake mix
  • 1 (3 oz) box strawberry jello
  • 1 (15-oz) container frozen strawberries in syrup, thawed and pureed
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup water

Ice Cream

1 carton strawberry ice cream (or flavor of your choice!)

Whipped Cream Frosting

Via Joy The Baker

  • 2 cups heavy whipping cream
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar

Directions

Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease 2 9-inch cake pans.

In a large bowl or the bowl of a stand mixer, combine the cake mix and the strawberry jello powder. Add in the pureed strawberries, eggs, vegetable oil and water and mix until thoroughly combined. Divide the mixture evenly between the two prepared pans and bake until a tester inserted in the center comes out clean, about 20 minutes. Take out of the pans to cool, then put the cake rounds back in the pans and stick in the freezer.

After about an hour, take your ice cream out of the freezer to thaw for 10-15 minutes. Then, take out the cake pans and spread the ice cream on top of one, for desired layer thickness. Place the second cake layer on top of that, then wrap in plastic wrap and put back in the freezer.

Next, make the whipped cream frosting. Mix the whipping cream and vanilla extract together, then slowly add in the powdered sugar. I did this with just a whisk, but I would highly recommend a mixer – it’s a slow process! The frosting is ready once the whipped cream once you see stiff peaks.

Frost and decorate the cake, then place back in the freezer until closer to serving time. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

