Spicy Shrimp & Veggie Skillet

If I had my way, we’d eat cupcakes for dinner EVERY night.

I mean, isn’t that what being an adult is all about? Doing whatever you want and staying up all night and never eating vegetables?

Riiiight. Unfortunately for my ten-year-old self, I actually love going to bed early and eating asparagus. But, I also really love cupcakes. So, there’s that. I’ll have to rethink my ideas on being a “grown up,” and get back to you. (I’ll make sure this vision includes sugar and wine, with a splash of responsibility!)

But sometimes, meals like this spicy shrimp and veggie skillet are necessary. It’s filling and healthy, with just the right amount of heat*.

*Now, it should be noted that I happen to cook for someone who is lacking a spice-o-meter. As in, nothing is ever too spicy for him. Whereas my eyes are watering when I eat chicken from Chipotle – I love spicy food, I just can’t always handle it! So, when I say the right amount of heat, I mean for those like me. If you want this to be a little spicier, just double the amount of red pepper flakes.

This is the perfect home-late-from-work weeknight meal. Plus, the shrimp gets us out of the traditional “Quick Chicken Dinner” rut. I will definitely be making this again soon! …And hopefully updating this post with a much better picture ; )

Shrimp Veggies Skillet

Spicy Shrimp & Veggie Skillet

Via How Sweet Eats

  • 2/3 lb raw peeled and deveined shrimp
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 teaspoons brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons soy sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 lb pasta of your choice (I used thin spaghetti)
  • Veggies of your choice: broccoli, carrots, sugar snap peas

In a bowl, whisk olive oil, parmesan, brown sugar, soy sauce, garlic and red pepper flakes together. Add shrimp to a large ziplock bag, pour marinade over top, then seal bag and shake to coat. Place in the fridge to marinate (for anywhere from 30 minutes to several hours).

First, put a little olive oil in a large skillet and add the veggies of your choice over medium heat (I always sprinkled a little Lawry’s on them here!). Meanwhile, bring water to boil in a large pot and cook pasta according to directions. Before the veggies are softened (5-10 minutes), take them off the heat and place them on a plate. Then, dump the shrimp and marinade into the same large skillet, and cook until the shrimp is pink (about 2 minutes each side). As soon as that’s ready, add the veggies back into the skillet with the shrimp, and mix. Add the pasta and additional cheese right before serving. Enjoy!

One thought on “Spicy Shrimp & Veggie Skillet

  1. Pingback: Weekly Menu August 4 | PB & Pinot

Leave a Reply

