Spicy Chicken Sausage & Veggie Pizza

I think about pizza far more often than I should.

And not just any pizza, but one cheesy pesto pie from Pizzeria Spera in the suburbs of Florence, Italy. Talk about tragedy! I am pining (and drooling) over this pizza from worlds away.

If you guys are ever in Florence, it’s so worth the trek outside the city center. When I studied there, we’d plan our whole schedule around when it was open. It’s THAT good.

I’m not going to pretend my own pizza measures up to it. But, making homemade pizza is such a fun experience, and I do love the ability to customize it with fresh ingredients. I am always excited to experiment with new toppings!

I found my favorite homemade combo (shown below) by mistake – I researched recipes, then added a few things we already had in the fridge… and voila!

Spicy Sausage and Veggie Pizza

I have a few bad habits in the kitchen: one, not measuring everything, and two, not setting a timer. I apologize for the first, because how annoying is that when you’re trying to recreate it? That’s what happened with this pizza, so I made it again to better gauge amounts used!

But, I am just not a timer person. If that means I burn a few (hundred) batches of cookies along the way, so be it.

I so wanted to add YOLO after that one. Ugh, I’m sorry. Let’s go eat pizza.

Spicy Chicken Sausage and Veggie Pizza

Spicy Chicken Sausage & Veggie Pizza

Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 1 ball of whole wheat crust (I got mine from Whole Foods)
  • Olive oil
  • 2 tsp Italian herb seasoning
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • Pizza sauce of your choice (*optional)
  • 6 oz shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 2 spicy chicken sausages, casting removed
  • ½ red bell pepper, sliced
  • ½ tomato, sliced
  • 1 cup spinach

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

First, remove the sausage from the casting, and cook in a medium skillet with a little olive oil, breaking up the meat as it browns. Once that’s done (roughly 10 minutes), set aside on a plate and throw the bell peppers slices in the skillet to brown (only for a few minutes, then remove). Roll out the dough with flour. Then, drizzle olive oil on top of the dough, and sprinkle with the seasoning and paprika. Adding tomato sauce here is optional – I added it on half, but preferred the one without! (The olive oil and seasonings are so good alone). Then, add on the toppings! Pile up your pizza with the cheese, sausage, tomato, peppers, and spinach.

Cook for roughly 15 minutes, or until the crust is browning and the cheese is bubbling. Enjoy!

*Dinner Tonight: Serve with this salad and a glass of red wine.

2 thoughts on “Spicy Chicken Sausage & Veggie Pizza

  1. Pingback: Turkey Meatballs + A Weekly Menu | PB & Pinot

  2. Pingback: How-to: Make Cauliflower Pizza Crust | PB & Pinot

Leave a Reply

