Raspberry Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Mini desserts are always better.

And, my philosophy really translates to most food items… I mean, look below. These mini muffins are just too cute.

I KNOW. I used to roll my eyes when I’d hear food described in that way: “Really Rachael Ray, pizza is cute?” But, I guess I’ve gone to the dark side. What can I say? I love the idea of “bite-sized” desserts, appetizers, etc. not only because of their presentation, but also because you can sample more of them without the guilt. Instead of having to choose one big cupcake, you can try two or three minis in different flavors (and maybe this has something to do with my indecisiveness!). Seriously, I’ve done some unscientific research, and I think people are more likely to grab smaller food items at parties or work events too. So my new entertaining motto is: “When in doubt, go mini”

Mini Raspberry Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

All week, I was obsessing over the idea of making blueberry muffins. Come Friday, I had several recipes ready to go – and then I found this one. Raspberry and chocolate chips and bananas?! I couldn’t resist. The blueberries will have to wait.

I. can’t. stop. eating. these.

Raspberry Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Raspberry Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Via Sallys Baking Addiction

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ cups white flour + 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup light or dark brown sugar, loosely packed
  • 2 mashed bananas
  • 1/4 cup nonfat vanilla greek yogurt
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 3/4 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips
  • 1 and ½ cups fresh raspberries

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325F degrees. Spray muffins tins with nonstick spray or fill with cupcake liners.

In a large bowl, gently toss the flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon together until combined. Set aside.

In a separate bowl, whisk the honey and brown sugar together – it will be lumpy. Add the mashed banana, yogurt, and beaten egg. Combine the wet ingredients with the dry. Gently begin to fold it all together. (It will be very thick). Add the milk slowly and continue to gently mix the ingredients together. Fold in the chocolate chips. Then, fold in the raspberries last. Do not overmix!

Fill the muffin tins and bake until the muffin tops are springy to the touch. Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

