Blueberry Kale Smoothie

I’m a little late to the kale party.

And to be honest, any time I’ve had kale in a salad, I haven’t loved it. But, the entire internet has been touting its healthiness for months now, so I thought I’d do some research.

Nutrition wise, it turns out that kale is pretty similar to spinach (sigh of relief – I LOVE spinach). But, kale does win when it comes to vitamin A and vitamin C, both of which help to boost your immune system. It also has nearly double the amount of vitamin K, which I read aids with blood clotting and bone health. To check out the chart comparison for yourself, click here.

I decided that a smoothie would be a great way to get some of those nutritional benefits without having kale be the main focus. I found this recipe from Skinny Taste, and then altered it slightly to make it a little sweeter. The result was SO good! You can’t even taste the kale, it’s just creamy blueberry deliciousness. I made it once… and then again like 12 hours later.

Plus, the combo of kale and blueberries makes this extra healthy. Blueberries are considered a superfood, and according to Health.com, they “soften dry skin, boost your brain, and may even prevent cancer.”

I’ll drink to that!

image

Blueberry Kale Smoothie

Serves 1-2

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1 cup kale
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • 3/4 cup vanilla almond milk
  • ¼ cup vanilla 0% Greek Yogurt
  • 1 frozen ripe banana
  • 1/2 cup ice

Directions:

Place all ingredients in the blender and mix! Depending on the consistency, you may need to add a little more ice.

Leave a Reply

