The Best Pomegranate Guacamole

I am a guacamole purist.

As I typed that, I realized the hypocrisy lurking behind it… because I’m about to tell you to put pomegranate seeds in your guacamole. So really, I meant I’m a purist when it comes to the basics. I like to actually taste the avocado, so I try to limit millions of mix ins and seasonings.

But back to the pomegranate seeds – SERIOUSLY! I bring this guacamole everywhere with me, and even the most skeptical of food critics are converted. I got the idea from this restaurant in Scottsdale a long time ago. It was one of those great moments where it arrived at the table and my mom and I looked at each other like “why have we never thought of this?!?” Then we recreated it the next day in our homemade guacamole. And now I’m sharing it with you!

The Best Easy Guacamole

It all starts the same way: with some smashed avocados. YUM.

Guacamole

Then, you add the rest of the good stuff, like tomatoes and pom seeds and cilantro. You can totally add onions too – I do maybe half the time. Also, be very careful if you’re going to seed your own pomegranate: the juice sprays everywhere! I learned that the hard way and ruined some white clothes along the way.

PS did you know that an avocado has more potassium than a banana?

Guacamole with pomegranate seeds

The Best Pomegranate Guacamole

Serves 2 – 4

Ingredients:

  •  3 avocados
  • 1/2 tomato, diced
  • One big handful of cilantro, chopped
  • 1/2 lemon or lime juice
  • Salt and pepper to taste (plus, add a dash of garlic salt!)
  • 1/4 cup pomegranate seeds
  • Optional: 1/4 onion, minced

Directions:

First, get the avocados into a big mixing bowl and mash them up. Next, dice the tomato and chop the cilantro and throw it into the bowl. Squeeze 1/2 of a lemon or lime into the bowl, then add the rest of the seasoning and mix. Fold in the pomegranate seeds last, saving a few to sprinkle on top. Enjoy!*

 

*Preferably with a margarita 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “The Best Pomegranate Guacamole

  1. Pingback: Weekly Menu: June 9 | PB & Pinot

Leave a Reply

