Classic Banana Bread

There are some days when you just NEED to bake. Like on a Spring day in April, when it’s finally nice enough to open the patio door and let some air in.  Like when you’ve been stuck in the office all day dreaming about baking and fresh air and mashed bananas.

So, I stopped at the grocery store just to pick up a few things we needed for dinner, then got on my way to bake some banana bread. There I am at home, with my recipe picked out, music blasting, kitchen prepped… and what do I realize? I’m missing some major ingredients!

It was one of those days.

I considered going right back to the store, but then decided to experiment instead. I had minimal butter and buttermilk left, and no vanilla. I improvised and cut the butter in half, added the little buttermilk I had and incorporated vanilla 0% Greek Yogurt. I also added chocolate chips because… oh who am I kidding, you never need a reason to add chocolate!

Luckily, it all worked out. In fact, this is one of my new favorites!  The bread was delicious, and a great consistency. This recipe made four medium/small loaves. I made two just chocolate chip, one just nuts, and one with both.

By the way: it always confuses me when people just bake one giant loaf. The best part about baking is making several smaller loaves to give away! Plus, then you can keep one too, and make mix-in variations. I guess this relates back to my mini dessert obsession?

image (1)

Classic Banana Bread

Adapted from Betty Crocker 

Ingredients

  • 1 ¼ cups sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 bananas, mashed
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup vanilla 0% Greek Yogurt
  • 2 ½ cups Gold Medal® all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Optional:

  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts
  • 1 cup mini chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350. Mix together the butter and sugar, then add the eggs. Mash the bananas, and then add those in, along with the buttermilk, and yogurt. Mix well.  Add the flour, baking soda and salt and continue to mix. Fold in the optional items last. I poured the plain banana bread batter into the  bread pans, then added in the extras from there. I stirred in just chocolate chips in one, just nuts in another, and added both to the rest. I definitely liked the bread with both chocolate chips and nuts the best! The cook time depends on the size of the bread pans you use (I prefer mini pans), but they are done as soon as they start browning on top and bounce back at the touch.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Classic Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: Poppyseed Bread | PB & Pinot

Leave a Reply

