Peanut Butter Cookies

PB & J.

PB & chocolate.

PB & honey & bananas.

Clearly, peanut butter is a match made in heaven for everyone and (almost) every food!

Of course, I’m a little biased. My love for peanut butter is definitely not a secret!  I eat peanut butter toast for breakfast every morning. My preferred candy is Reese’s. I’ve even recently become obsessed with this Thai peanut butter dipping sauce for our chicken at dinner.

So, peanut butter in cookies? My favorite food mixed with sugar and butter and all the sweet goodness? Absolute perfection.

I haven’t even tried many other peanut butter cookie recipes because this one is always right on point! I’m not sure where it originally came from, but my mom has been making these for years with consistent results.

I mean, peanut butter AND cookies. In one (!)

Peanut Butter Cookies

Peanut Butter Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 C butter (2 sticks)
  • 1 C peanut butter (I use creamy but chunky would work)
  • 1 C white sugar
  • 1 C packed light brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 1/2 C flour
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t salt

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350. Mix together the butter, peanut butter, sugars and eggs. Add the rest of the dry ingredients. Once it’s all mixed together, take a spoonful of batter and shape it into a ball. Then, roll the ball in sugar (This is separate from the 1 C above…I usually just pour a little white sugar into a small bowl for this), place it on the cookie sheet, and press down on the cookie ball with a fork (making a crisscross pattern). Continue to do this for each cookie. Timing depends on the size, but take the cookies out just before you think they’re ready – they’re best a little softer!

 

Leave a Reply

