Spinach & Bell Pepper Turkey Burgers

“Find something you’re passionate about and keep tremendously busy in it.”

 – Julia Child

Facing reality is the most difficult aspect of this wonderful quote. We can float around our whole lives chasing a passion that will never come into fruition. Or, you can work for years before even finding out what it is. In many cases, our “passion” isn’t what we are paid to do. And sometimes, that’s what makes it so special.

In Julie & Julia, a woman strives to cook all of the recipes in Julia Child’s first book. It isn’t always easy or fun, but she sticks with it. I certainly am under no pressure or deadlines to cook, but I do have days where it just seems like work to chop those veggies and flip that chicken after nine hours of actual work. But, I keep coming back to it. Because it’s my passion and in some ways my therapy (along with shopping, but that’s another story!).

It makes me so happy to browse through recipes on Pinterest or check on the latest posts from my favorite food bloggers. Typically, the recipes I am most excited to find include some combination of sugar, wine and/or peanut butter. Other days, however, I just want healthy, easy dinner ideas that don’t include fifteen million prepping steps or a twenty-four hour marinade (I always forget to do this!). And that’s what this turkey burger is – a fresh, quick meal you can whip up and still feel good about. Can I say they’ll bring you joy? Maybe. Let’s get passionate about these little burgers!

photo (5)

I really wanted to call these “Christmas Burgers.” Or maybe “Grinch Patties.” But, that didn’t really seem appropriate considering it’s May. And they actually taste like SUMMER, not winter. But you know, red and green…real original.

image (1)

Also, the only time I actually came near the grill was to take a picture (Thanks Ryan!). Then, I ran back inside to check on the delicious “drunken beans” I made to go with the burgers. I definitely recommend them!

image

Spinach & Bell Pepper Turkey Burgers

Serves 4

Ingredients:

  •  1 lb lean ground turkey (I used 93%)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 T garlic salt
  • 1 t pepper
  • 1/2 t red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 t cumin
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 C spinach, chopped

Directions:

Mix all ingredients together in a big bowl. Then, using a spoon or your hands (which I’ve found to be easiest), form burger patties and place on a plate. Then, cook them on the grill or in a skillet with a little olive oil. Serve topped with avocado and sriracha ketchup.

3 thoughts on “Spinach & Bell Pepper Turkey Burgers

  1. Pingback: Turkey Meatballs + A Weekly Menu | PB & Pinot

  2. Pingback: Weekly Menu: June 16 | PB & Pinot

  3. Pingback: Weekly Menu August 11 | PB & Pinot

Leave a Reply

