Orange Poppyseed Bread

 

 

butter

“You are the butter to my bread and the breath to my life.”

Julia Child seriously knows how to make something like bread and butter sound extraordinary. I’ve been obsessed with this simple but magnetic quote since finding it on Pinterest. How cute would it be framed in the kitchen?

In general, I’m just obsessed with Pinterest. But who isn’t these days? It’s the perfect place for decorating inspiration, recipe ideas, clothes shopping, and of course, quotes – motivational, cheesy, you name it. I totally fall for all of it!

As is evident from some of these recipes and my love of related quotes, I’m having a bread moment. It’s my ideal sweet comfort food. Lately I’ve been gravitating toward banana or berry breads, but the other day I just HAD to make poppyseed bread. My mom has been making this recipe for as long as I can remember, and as soon as I mixed the batter together, I was overwhelmed with the smell! You know how some scents just cultivate a feeling? This bread smells like home to me… aka a mix of vanilla, almond and butter extracts! And, it tastes even better than it smells – if you can believe it.

photo

 

Orange Poppyseed Bread

Ingredients:

Mixture A:

  • 3 C flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder

Mixture B:

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/2 C milk
  • 1 1/8 C oil
  • 2 1/4 C sugar
  • 1 1/2 T poppy seeds
  • 1 1/2 t  vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 t almond extract
  • 1 1/2 t butter flavoring

Glaze:

  • 1/2 tsp vanilla, almond, and butter flavorings
  • 1/4 C orange juice
  • 3/4 C sugar

Directions: 

Preheat the oven to 350. Grease your pans (I used four small to medium-sized loaf pans). Prepare the two different mixtures in bowls, and then fold mixture B (with the wet ingredients) into mixture A. Bake until top bounces back.

While the bread is cooking, prepare the glaze. Heat the ingredients in a bowl in the microwave (or on the stove) until sugar dissolves; pour over breads as soon as they come out of oven.

image (6)

Leave a Reply

