Cranberry Almond Biscotti

I’m totally failing at weekly menu life.

I was in coma of exhaustion at work on Monday after spending a whirlwind girls weekend in San Francisco with my mom and grandma. We nicknamed it the “macaron tour” because that’s pretty much what we ate the whole time… along with other amazing food like shrimp tacos, cotija gucamole, clam chowder, sesame chicken and strawberry crepes, of course. A few favorite restaurants we came across: Lolo’s, L’Osteria Del Forno, and Fang’s.

Plus, we took a macaron class at Sur La Table there. It was a ton of fun, and I’d definitely recommend it! I’ve tried making them before without much success, so the tips from the pastry chef were super helpful. You can expect some macaron experimentation soon!

image (23)

Before I left last week I made this Cranberry Almond Biscotti. It’s a special recipe for me, because it’s a family favorite and I grew up watching my parents make it together! My dad would chop the cranberries, almonds and white chocolate – and my mom would do everything else 😉

I love having it around to snack on, especially with my morning coffee. Some places make it too hard or crunchy, so I love the idea of controlling the consistency when it’s homemade. When I’d make this in college, one of my roommates would beg me to keep out a few pieces after cutting them so that they were like soft cookie bars.

The steps can seem confusing at first glance, but I promise it’s really easy! And the end result is so worth it.

photo (11)

First, prep your almonds, cranberries and white chocolate.

image (21)

Then, follow the directions to mix together the dough. Add it all together and spread it out on your pan.

image (19)

Stick it in the oven until barely browning. Then, pull it out and let cool. Cut it into pieces – you can choose your desired thickness and length – and put it back in the oven to finish browning.

image (20)

Let them cool, or enjoy them right away!

photo (12)

Cranberry Almond Biscotti

Ingredients:

  • 2  cups  all-purpose flour, plus 2 tablespoons
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4  teaspoon salt
  • 1/8  teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup  granulated sugar
  • 2 whole  eggs, at room temperature
  • 2 egg whites, at room temperature
  • 1 tablespoon almond extract
  • ½ cup  toasted almonds, chopped
  • ½ cup dried cranberries, chopped
  • 1/3 cup white chocolate, chopped

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a medium bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, salt and baking soda. In a large bowl, combine sugar, eggs, egg whites and almond extract until blended. Add the flour mixture to it and continue beating until smooth. Stir in the chopped almonds, cranberries and white chocolate.

Spread the dough on the baking sheet, smoothing it into one big strip (as shown above). Bake until firm and barely browning (light golden). Then take out the pan and lower the oven temperature to 300. Let the pan cool for a few minutes, and then cut into strips. Arrange slices standing upright on baking sheets and put them back in the oven until crisp (about another 15-20 minutes). Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

