My Grandma’s Cinnamon Rolls

Cinnamon rolls are in my blood.

I mean it: I wouldn’t be surprised if there’s butter and sugar running through my veins. I didn’t take many science classes in college, though, so I can’t confirm if that’s actually possible or not (ugh). But, you get the idea.

I grew up making cinnamon rolls with my Grandma. She’s famous for them! And I’m lucky to be able to learn her ways. When I was younger, I rarely paid attention to the technical aspects of it. I just waited for my turn to spread butter and sprinkle cinnamon and roll!  Now, I’m practicing my cinnamon roll baking skills like crazy.

My Grandma always brings pans of cinnamon rolls whenever she visits. She brings them on family vacations, or to people’s houses in times of need (like when the neighbors had twins, AGAIN).  You just can’t go wrong with classic cinnamon rolls. They’d make the perfect homemade housewarming or holiday gift: pair the rolls with a little basket of mugs, coffee beans or tea and dish towels.

photo (17)

They also freeze really well. So, make a big batch, and then transfer over the rolls you want to freeze into a different pan (like a tin or tupperware, something you won’t miss for a while). When you’re ready to eat them, they defrost the best slowly at room temperature. Just leave them out on the counter overnight. And, while they’re frosted before you freeze them, you can always add another layer after!

image (27)

Classic Cinnamon Rolls

Makes 2-3 pans

Sweet Roll Dough:

  • 2 T yeast dissolved in l/2 cup of warm water (let stand 10 min. then add along with milk)
  • 3 eggs
  • l cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup softened butter
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1  1/2 cups hot water
  • 3/4 T salt
  • 6 to 8 cups flour

Filling:

  • 1 stick of unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup of brown sugar
  • Lots of cinnamon – sprinkled evenly throughout

Frosting:

  • 1 stick of unsalted butter, softened
  • 2 t vanilla
  • 1 t milk
  • 3-5 cups of powdered sugar

To make the dough, mix in the ingredients in the order listed.  The key is to not make the dough too stiff, so add flour until it just begins to not be sticky.  It should feel light when you work with it. Then, pat down the dough in the bowl. Lightly spray it with cooking spray and cover with a kitchen towel. Let it stand until doubled in size (usually within an hour it is to the top of the bowl).

Next, preheat the oven to 350. Divide the dough in half and roll it out into a long rectangle shape. Spread the first half with an even layer of butter and brown sugar, and then sprinkle cinnamon all over the top. Roll it up into a long log, then cut to your desired thickness. Place the rolls into a greased cake pan or pie plate. Repeat these steps with the other half of your dough.

While the rolls are baking, whip up the frosting. This recipe is an approximation, but I always start with 1 stick of butter and vanilla and milk. Then, add powdered sugar until you get the desired thickness. In this case, you want the frosting to be a little more fluid so that it ices over the rolls.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

